Christian Homeschool Mom???

April 5, 2010 at 2:05 pm 5 comments

I chose “Christian Homeschool Mom” for my blog title because it is, essentially, what I am, but mostly because it makes me laugh.

When I think of Homeschool Moms, (and they would be Christian, wouldn’t they? Only Christians are crazy enough to think of homeschooling, so they can protect their kids from the evil world) I think of the ladies I still occasionally see in the grocery store and library. Long denim skirt with socks and birkenstocks (you can skip the socks if it’s 80 degrees or more out – I think that’s an official rule), a long-sleeved turtle neck, either plain or with a print of small flowers, and the single braid that swings gently from side to side like a horse’s tail, reaching to the small of the back (and that’s the shortest).

But that is a totally stereotypical, and thankfully soon becoming the not-so-normal, picture of the Christian Homeschool Mom. The face of homeschooling moms is changing, and might look kind of like, say, oh, I guess it could be… me.

I’m 26, with short brown hair and a normal build. I have those ultra (still) cool black rimmed glasses (only mine have purple on the inside for a little razzle dazzle). I still occasionally do my eyeliner punk-rock style because I am, after all, only 26, and old habits die hard. Normal attire is jeans and a t-shirt and almost always my rip-off “vans” with pink skulls (please don’t die yet, you $6 pair of joy).

Now, to say I am the new face of Christian Homeschooling Mothers might sound a bit pretentious, after all my sons are only 2 and 8 months. Yeah, it totally sounds pretentious. I’m okay with that. Though I’m not homeschooling yet in the sense of “sit down and do your workbooks for a couple hours”, it’s more a lifestyle that my husband, Jonathan, and I have chosen for our family. And we’re committed. Not as committed as we are to, for instance, the Creator of the universe, but this is what we’ve decided to do, and for what it’s worth we’ve started already in some ways.

“How?” you ask? Whoa, whoa, don’t get ahead of me there. You must be patient my little chickadee. That’s what this blog is about.

I would love for you to join me on this adventure. I decided to start this blog simply because I was looking for something like it and couldn’t quite find it. So, for all the other “Sarah’s and Jonny’s” out there, and more than a little just for me, here I am.

Gotta run now, Dig (2), is yelling from his bed “go potty now, mummy!!!”

Entry filed under: homeschooling. Tags: .

B is for Ice Cream

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tommy  |  April 8, 2010 at 2:21 am

    Secrets (Secrets, secrets) Of (of, of) The Universe (Universe, universe).

    Reply
  • 2. Jim  |  April 9, 2010 at 5:29 am

    I really hope you continue this. Raising kids to follow Jesus is the best adventure in the whole world. Mostly you never know for sure if you are doing it right. But even if your kids don’t become geniuses, they will know that they are loved. And that seems to count for something to the One who said the love is the main thing.

    Reply
  • 3. juliediterrell  |  April 10, 2010 at 9:46 pm

    Yesssss!!! I believe that short hair, eyeliner and cute jeans are the new “face” of homeschooling.

    Reply
  • 4. Melissa  |  April 30, 2010 at 8:27 am

    Hello! I have had fun reading your blog and the links in it. Congrats! I have to admit I am afraid of returning to the States and having my children enter the public school system, namely because of where I see American culture dragging our kids down to. I don’t know if I am ready to make the jump to homeschooling, but I certainly admire those who make the commitment to do so. I have been really involved in my children’s classrooms over the past 3 years and have witnessed amazing teachers in action. I’m not sure I could match that or make the time commitment/prep/planning it would take to homeschool my kids, but it is tempting.

    Reply
    • 5. christianhomeschoolmom  |  April 30, 2010 at 1:17 pm

      Thanks Melissa – I haven’t posted for a while because of sickness in our house, but I’m gonna get back into it.
      I understand how all of the prep/planning could seem really daunting, but if you do decide to homeschool there are a TON of resources out there – websites, conferences, books – that have done most of the work for you. It’s wrangling all of that together. I am particularly interested (and excited!) to do unit studies. More to come on that!
      Returning to the States will definitely take some adjustment, even though it’s “home”. Even coming back from England for me took a while to get used to things again. And that was only two 6-month stays. Part of the problem is that you’re not returning to Idaho 🙂
      Keep in touch. Smooches to your fam.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 6 other followers


