B is for Ice Cream

April 6, 2010 at 10:17 pm 2 comments

Dig was running around earlier today saying “B is for Ice Cream, B B B!”
Okay, so he doesn’t have it exactly correct, but it’s a start. And after I told him that it’s “I”, he repeated it correctly.
Thanks to Auntie Dee, he has one of those Alphabet Trains. To be honest, I wasn’t so sure about it when he first received it – I tend to be against “toys that make noise”, preferring the old fashioned wooden blocks, little plastic army men, or just a piece of string and a stick. But… I must admit it has been a pretty good toy to have around.
The blocks from the toy get the most use in our house. Each block has a letter on one side and a corresponding picture on the other. I thought I was just helping pass the time and keep him entertained when I would play this game, but it is definitely helping him learn his letters as well.
I turn all the blocks so just the picture is showing. Then I ask him to find one. “Find the picture with the turtle on it.” Once he finds the picture, I show him the T on the other side and we say “T is for turtle, T T T.” He loves it.
If you’re crafty, you can make some wooden blocks (or buy them from the craft store) and paint the alphabet and pictures on them (or buy stickers!).

Entry filed under: games, homeschooling. Tags: , .

Christian Homeschool Mom??? My Funny Boys

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bethany W.  |  April 10, 2010 at 9:45 pm

    I am one of those moms that takes the batteries out of the fancy toys that grandpa and grandma buy! I prefer the old-fashioned toys too. But, I have to admit that some phonics toys are great to have around.

    Bethany

    Reply
  • 2. christianhomeschoolmom  |  April 11, 2010 at 1:19 pm

    Haha, that is so awesome.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 6 other followers


