Convincing the Other Half

April 9, 2010 at 3:09 pm 7 comments

Jonathan and I had a few discussions about homeschool vs. any other school (private or public) before we even had children, and I always came away feeling like we were on two different pages, and more than a little bit like he would let me try but was waiting for me to fail (of course, this was not really his attitude, but that’s how I felt).

Jonny’s idea was that we do the homeschooling thing, but if it doesn’t work out – if it doesn’t work for our children – then we send them to school. I was of the mindset that it was homeschool or bust.

I have known of too many people that decide to homeschool because it sounds kind of cool and fun, and they like the idea of it, but when it comes down to it were not prepared for the blood, sweat, and tears of teaching. It takes a lot of work: preparation, execution, and constant follow-up. And, frankly, not everyone is a good teacher naturally (but I bet a lot of parents could learn to be effective teachers).

The thing is, homeschooling is NOT like public school, where they have “the way” they do things – and the government standards to abide by – and cannot deviate. So, if that way is not your child’s way, they get put in special education classes, or are “diagnosed” as ADD, autistic, EOBD (early onset bi-polar disorder),  or whatever other kind of “reason” they can find that your child does not adapt to the “norm”.

(Now, please understand that I do believe there are legitimate diagnoses of these disorders, but I think it is waaaaaay more than it should be. I’m currently reading Jay Adams’ “Competent To Counsel” and “The Christian Counselor’s Manual” – you can check those out if you want more info, or punch me in the face if that’s your preference.)

Homeschooling is easily adaptable to your child(ren). And because you only have 1-5 students (or more if you’re particularly fertile), you can help them learn their way. Some children do great with workbooks (oh, how I drool in the book section of Costco), but others cannot sit and trace letters and numbers for more than 2 minutes and need to be doing and feeling with their hands (foam letters and numbers are awesome). Some children learn well from reading about things in a book, others have to be experiencing it for themselves.

The thing is, I believe it’s wrong to say “we’ll try homeschooling.” You have to make a commitment, and if your child isn’t learning well the way you are teaching, well doggone it, change your teaching. That’s why public school is not an option to me, because my husband and I do not have any standards besides God’s and our own, because we have the freedom to teach our children the way that they learn, and because we love our children and want them to be taught well.

Whoops, I got kind of side-tracked there.

So, how did I get my husband on board with me? Through another dad. I don’t think I ever did a great job of explaining to my husband just what my philosophy and ideas on homeschooling were. When I found this article, my husband read it and got so excited. “I want to be homeschooled!” he said. I don’t agree with everything the writer said (the continuous references to Bible-thumping, jumper wearing Christians does get a little grating after a while), but it really is a wonderfully written article and helps clarify some of the benefits of homeschooling.

Read this: Confessions of a Homeschooling Dad

Entry filed under: homeschooling. Tags: , .

My Funny Boys Get Free Kid Books!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bethany W.  |  April 10, 2010 at 9:42 pm

    I found this post by clicking my homeschool label. You make me smile… I needed to smile today ; )

    We homeschool our kids… and it is like you said, there IS no other option for us.

    But, I am all for Bible-thumping… that’s when I use the biggest Bible I have to thump a child’s bottom as a form of correction, right? Just kidding. But, seriously, we definitely have a Bible-based school here… no apologies.

    Nice meeting you,
    Bethany

    Reply
  • 2. juliediterrell  |  April 10, 2010 at 9:44 pm

    So true. All of it! I’m right behind ya.

    Reply
  • 3. christianhomeschoolmom  |  April 11, 2010 at 1:16 pm

    Thanks for your comments ladies. Wow, there are more of us out there, huh?
    Now – I must say I don’t think I was too fair to my husband. He always wants the best for our children, our family. I’m glad that he now, with me, thinks that homeschooling is the best for them.

    Reply
  • 4. christianhomeschoolmom  |  April 12, 2010 at 3:38 pm

    Bethany, too funny about the Bible-thumping. You’re not sarcastic ever, are you?! We are in full-agreement about having a Bible-based school at our home, too. I mean, since we have the option of having our kids in a VERY private school, we might as well make it a Christian one…

    Reply
  • 5. Bethany W.  |  April 12, 2010 at 4:33 pm

    Sarcastic? Never *winks*

    Reply
  • 6. betsy  |  September 2, 2010 at 1:03 pm

    I am so happy for you homeschooling david & charlie!!

    if I had children I would also.. because you know “millions & millions yrs ago” :-O

    Reply
    • 7. christianhomeschoolmom  |  September 2, 2010 at 1:55 pm

      Ha. Thanks, Betsy. Maybe you should be a guest teacher … ? Haha.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 6 other followers


