Repeat After Me…

April 14, 2010 at 2:11 pm Leave a comment

I get the car on Tuesdays. As a one car family, we’ve had to arrange that I get the car on Tuesdays so that I can A) Go to the weekly coffee meet at Flying M and B) Get some groceries. If I didn’t get the car that day, we would end up doing all of our shopping and running around on Saturday, and we’re trying to prioritize that as more of a day to hang out, relax, see friends.
Yesterday I ran the usual (plus) errands and the boys and I headed to Jonathan’s workplace to pick him up for lunch at 1. Dig was in a particularly good mood because we had had his cousin Ruby the whole morning and he’s such a little socialite and feeds off the company (although he kept calling her “Lucy” – other cousin – or “Lucy and Ruby”).
He kept repeating everything I said as we sat in the car waiting for Dad to come out of the building. Not in the annoying copy cat way, just figuring out how the words sounded in his own mouth. A lot of times when he does that I’ll hum tunes and see how close he gets (he’s going to be a musical genius I’m sure).
Then the light bulb went on in my head. “Teaching Moment! Teaching Moment! Teaching Moment!” And my brain recalled (how could it ever forget) the Sing, Spell, Read, and Write (Raceway) songs. The curriculum is still around, but I don’t know if it is still as good as it used to be. I have the box with all the supplies my mom used with us in the 80’s and early 90’s. It still has the tapes with the songs, flashcards, and the raceway track!
So, anyway, I say to Dig, “I’m going to teaching you the short vowel sounds.” Nod, nod. “Can you sing the short vowel song with me?” Nod, nod.
A A A A Apple
E E E E Egg
I I I I Indian
The short vowels we do sing
O O O O Oxen
U Umbrella, too
Now I know my short vowel sounds, I’ll sing them all to you.
He did so well with it! Perfect little vowel repetitions. Oh, and remembering the photos and books that go along with it all is really hilarious. I’m sure they’ve made it way more politically correct now (the picture of the “Indian” is an old stereotypical caricature of a Native American).
So, there’s a new song for our growing list. It’s nice to think of some that are a bit more educational than “Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star” (or Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Charlie that has been the latest version).

Entry filed under: homeschooling, songs. Tags: , , , .

Get Free Kid Books! The Musician In Me

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 6 other followers


