The Musician In Me

April 17, 2010 at 5:18 am 2 comments

Thanks to my friend Rosemary Penwell, I played a show tonight! Well, I don’t know if it was so much a show as it was a couple songs at open mic night at Rembrandts. Believe me, she was persistent – I held out for nearly an hour or so before I gave in and let her go ask for me if there were any spots left, and let her borrow a guitar for me so I could play my songs. And according to Eagle, Idaho at large I should be on American Idol. Haha.

No, seriously, it was an awesome evening out with no kids and a girl friend. I was blessed to hear about what is going on in her life and family, and equally blessed to be sharing about mine.

Playing music tonight was great. I forgot the thrill of getting up in front of people to play. It’s hard sometimes with the busyness of being Mum to remember that there are other talents God gave me besides scrubbing toilets, digging dandelions out of the grass, and nursing fussy babies (can you tell what I did today?). I’ve been meaning to pick up the guitar once in a while during the boys’ nap times, but there’s always more “pressing” matters like de-weeding the driveway.

Which will my boys cherish more – a fantastic gravel driveway with a flowery border, or the memory of their Mummy playing guitar and singing her heart out? Hmm.

Plus, if I don’t keep up on these guitar skills, how will I ever be able to teach them?

Entry filed under: life.

Repeat After Me… Top Reasons for Homeschooling

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lynn Adams  |  June 8, 2010 at 8:29 pm

    When are you scheduled to sing again?
    Schedule something while B is home – only not the first two weeks of July.
    xo

    Reply
    • 2. christianhomeschoolmom  |  June 17, 2010 at 7:38 am

      Jonny and I will do a private split show for her while she is here. Or maybe we could do a little backyard show. That could be really fun.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 6 other followers


