Top Reasons for Homeschooling

April 19, 2010 at 2:29 pm 3 comments

Many people will go on the defensive if homeschooling comes up. If you say “I’m going to homeschool my kids”, they immediately start trying to justify why their kids go to school. Or why they’re just fine and they went to public school.

Why is it so offensive to people for one to think homeschooling is a better option? We’re allowed to have opinions on the better grocery store, the better car, the better shoes. Why aren’t we allowed to have opinions on what is better for our kids schooling?

So, here are just a few of the TOP REASONS why I think homeschooling is better:

• No reason to get dressed. If my kids aren’t going to school, they can just stay in their jammie’s all day and save me some laundry loads.

• Mowing the lawn and pulling weeds are the PE class.

• There are a ton of “educational” shows out there, I just put PBS on and sit back as my children soak in the learning.

• My kids will get “home ec” early as they learn to cook and clean around the house.

• Arts & Crafts – our house needs repainting.

• We can skip learning anatomy, because everyone knows that our reproductive systems are God’s mistake.

• I can tie every lesson into why they should honor their parents. “It’s kind of gross how some animals will eat their young sometimes.. And that’s why you should honor your parents.”

Well, I better get the curriculum for “giving mummy a foot massage” ready…

Entry filed under: homeschooling.

The Musician In Me That’s Just Sick

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Your mother  |  April 20, 2010 at 10:37 pm

    I am so proud of you! You did learn from me after all!

    Reply
  • 2. Beka  |  April 24, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    Silly girl …

    Reply
  • 3. Papa/Sarah's Dad/Jim  |  December 14, 2010 at 11:19 am

    First time at your blog (I should be ashamed!) and now I have finally worked my way backwards to this page. I join your mom in vain pride at our accomplishment in raising a daughter who gets it. Parents should be the one’s to exploit… uhh… educate their children. So keep up the good work. And try to put more frequent positive references to me in your content.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 6 other followers


