Jane Austen – Christian Encounters by Peter Leithart

April 24, 2010 at 2:12 am 1 comment

Jane Austen by Peter Leithart – part of the Christian Encounters Series – was… readable. I want to give a good review (for booksneeze.com) because the author obviously cared very much about his subject, but I honestly thought the book was nothing special. I’m not entirely sure that Jane Austen was a Christian – for someone to be a part of the “Christian Encounters” series, you would think there would be a bit more to this area of their life besides the fact that they attended church regularly.

The first chapter was hardest for me to get by as an interested reader. The elaborate family background without a visual family tree to reference was frustrating and ultimately unnecessary because it was nearly impossible to follow and you had to keep turning back to it to find out who this or that person was anyhow – I’d have preferred if the author had expanded upon each member as they came up. Another difficult point was that it seemed the author was really stretching to put Jesus in there somewhere, since it seemed that Austen herself wasn’t much help in that.

Jane Austen by Peter Leithart did give me some information about Austen – especially the young “Jenny” – that I didn’t know before. I read it to learn something about her, and I did – but I don’t think I’ll be recommending this book to any Jane Austen fans.

Entry filed under: books.

Do I Have a Transgender Child? Cleaning House

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Danni  |  April 24, 2010 at 2:31 am

    Dang, wish this book was better, I love Jane Austin!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 6 other followers


