Gospel Powered Parenting

June 1, 2010 at 10:02 pm 2 comments

I just wanted to say that if you love your kids you will read this book.

No, I am not being paid to advertise this, nor is it part of the BookSneeze program of which I am a member.

This is just me. I can’t say I have read many parenting books, but I’ve read a few. Most of them focus on a child’s ‘behavior’ – how to make them ‘good.’ Although this appeals to me because I like it when my kids are well behaved, Gospel Powered Parenting is different in that it instructs parents to focus on their child’s heart. This book is less about parenting than it is about God the Father. It’s not about putting a halo on little Susie or Billy, it is about equipping them to live lives that glorify Jesus Christ.

I came away from reading this book more in love with God, more passionate about being a parent, more willing to partner with my husband in raising children who honor God first and love their neighbors second.

Entry filed under: books, life. Tags: , , , .

Home Improvement is a … What’s that on my hand?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. juliediterrell  |  June 1, 2010 at 10:05 pm

    THANK YOU for sharing! I’m excited to read it now! It’ll be a few months before I can order it and have someone bring it down to us, but I’m going to look it up right now.

    There’s another book that I’ve read about half-way through. It also focuses on the child’s heart more than behavior, which I really like. It’s called Shepherding a Child’s Heart by Tedd Tripp

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 6 other followers


