I’m Freezing

August 31, 2010 at 1:49 pm Leave a comment

I have been freezing veggies like a fiend. With help from this book which was very affordable and has a pretty cover, too:

I had no idea how many veggies you can just pop in the freezer without any fuss (except washing, of course).

I was going to be really, amazingly domestic today and try my hand at canning. I have a ton of fresh jalapenos that are just begging to be pickled. I’m sure I would have done a great job if it wasn’t for the fact that my boiling water bath pot has an inconveniently placed hole in the bottom. Ah well, another time.

I did process some carrots last week – sliced, blanched, then frozen in single layer. I had never grown carrots before, and it was quite exciting to see that only a couple of them were oddly shaped (and no rude ones that I had to hide from the children).

Since the death of my ipod I have found little motivation to do much more work outside. The back yard fire pit is halfway done, the grass is getting tall, there are more bricks to be dealt with, and the squash bugs are taking over the world. But without my usual company of Terry Gross, “Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me”, and “This American Life”, I find myself lagging.

Luckily, we have a nice weekend planned ahead of us. Ahh.

Entry filed under: home.

Charlie’s Busy Bee Birthday The Boy Who Changed The World

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 6 other followers


