Bringing my “A” game

September 22, 2010 at 2:20 pm Leave a comment

Next week we start A! I am super excited.

I am in the process of putting together simple coloring pages for Dig using Photoshop, and making my list of craft supplies needed.

I have been scouring websites for ideas and inspiration, and am happy it’s all coming together.

We’ll be focusing our attention on Apples, Alligators, Airplanes, and Aprons. I think we’ll probably do the Apron one early on, so that he can wear it during other crafts and not get so messy. Don’t worry, it won’t be girlie. I think the normal thing will be to choose 5 items, one for each day of the week, but next week promises to be busy and I’d rather do 4 things well.

My friend Virginia told me the other day that most schools teach preschoolers capital letters only when introducing the alphabet. She was involved in schools in California, I’m not sure if that’s true for here. I feel that is such a shame. I plan on teaching big and small letters at the same time so that my kid(s) will be able to recognize both without confusion. In fact, my opinion is that if you were  going to leave one set out it would be the capital letters. After all, they don’t get used as much, do they.

On another note I am really enjoying the cooler weather we’re having – it helps me to focus on the indoors and school stuff. I am glad that the gardening season is almost over, and there will be a nice little interim between all of the canning and freezing and planning the garden for next year. I have been wearing sweaters and picking up my knitting more, feeling calmed by peacefulness of autumn. I’m actually looking forward to the rainy part of autumn later on.

Entry filed under: homeschooling.

Failure #6,451 Aa – Day 1

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 6 other followers


