Thanksgiving, Thanksgiving, Thanks…

November 24, 2010 at 11:45 am Leave a comment

This week we are postponing the letter learning and focusing on Thanksgiving. I wish I had made it to the library last week (agh, need to plan ahead) to grab some thanksgiving books, but oh well. We skipped out on Monday but yesterday we made awesome little hand-painted turkeys.

Things are pretty cluttered around here. Which probably contributes greatly to my brain being cluttered. I have been really bad about getting things back in their places. A stack of coloring books, crayons and markers sits by my arm just now with a pile of measuring tape, exacto knife, pencils close by. A couple of bags of yarn are still sitting out on the coffee table, kitchen counters are cluttered with things that I “needed” to leave out for my (continued) soup making today. I keep trying to get back on my lovely cleaning schedule, and I do it for a day and then get “busy”. My attention is split between caring for the home and making Christmas gifts (which is way more fun!). I know I could do both if I would just start moving a little faster. Having an ipod again helps (thanks Jonny for replacing the broken one!!).

Here is part of it. I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again – I really, really, really struggle with being content in our home. We kind of thought it would be a starter home that we’d sell after about 5 years (probably at a profit, right?), and I find it difficult putting the time and energy into this space when I would rather be somewhere else bigger and better. I’m just being honest here. But the key is – I’m struggling. I am not just giving in to the bad attitude that I would rather have, I’m not throwing tantrums when I cannot find any storage space, I am not giving into feelings of bitterness, jealousy, envy when I see a house 2x the size of ours on an acre going for less than we bought our little home. Obviously I’m tempted to do these things – otherwise I wouldn’t know to write about them. But daily I am thanking God for what he has given us – for our warm home, a space that is sufficient.

Sometimes I just need to preach to myself. That’s right. Preach the truth out loud to myself. I can tell that today I especially need to. God is so good. Has given so generously to us. And we get to give right back to him, to friends, to family, to strangers, to our children, to each other.

Thank you, Father, for your good and perfect gifts.

Entry filed under: life.

The Gg Week A Christmas Prayer – Book Review

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 6 other followers


