The Man of the House & The Stoners

December 2, 2010 at 8:35 am 1 comment

At the Thanksgiving table last week, many of my family (and friend!) shared the things that they are thankful for. I didn’t share. Not because I was not thankful! Part of it is awkwardness and not knowing how to word things. Sometimes I need time to process before I can be vulnerable with others about what I care about.

Part of what I wanted to share is how thankful I am for Cornerstone. My beloved body of believers that I meet with regularly. What treasures we have in our midst! I am so blessed to be a part of Jesus’ church, ones who press in for more of Him even when we don’t feel like it, many of us have had to work through our differences in gifting, communication and service – all to the glory of Jesus Christ who made us all so wonderfully different. I meet with these beloved of God who stir ourselves up to powerful times of worship (for He is worthy!), intimate times of prayer (use us!), and relevant practical, theological, and doctrinal teaching (God knows we need to grow!). Thank you faithful Cornerstoners, I love you!

The biggest thing on my heart that I wanted to share was about the man of our house. I am so grateful to God for giving me a husband who is a joy to submit to! He leads our house with strength, with selfless love, with a desire to see Jesus glorified in all that we do. I know I kind of wondered when we were first engaged if I would lead the charge in some of the spiritual aspects of having a family because Jonny hadn’t “been saved as long as me.” I knew little about marriage, little about God giving Jonny the ability to stand up to the task that He called him to. My husband puts Jesus first, his wife second, his children third. Oh Jonny, I know you’re not perfect, I get to see the struggle for selflessness. It is a thing of beauty! Thank you for leading our family in the fruit of the Spirit and into greater unity.

Entry filed under: life.

Hh – Day 1 – Hand Hh is for Heart (Day 2)

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jonathan  |  December 2, 2010 at 9:45 am

    you’re not allowed to make me cry at work

    i love you so much

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 6 other followers


