Ii is for Ice Cream (Day 2)

December 9, 2010 at 11:36 am Leave a comment

We mixed the ice cream together first – then let it freeze whilst Dig did his paper craft, played for a bit, asked 20 times when the ice cream was going to be ready.

I kind of made it up.

1/2 cup frozen blueberries
1/2 cup milk
1/2 cup whipping cream
some honey

I put it in a quart sized ziploc bag and stuck it in the freezer. I took it out and squished it around a couple of times. It was done in about 2 hours – soft serve.

Dig made a cute little ice cream cone picture and we worked on the long I sound.

Charlie has started pointing to the Ii’s on the wall and saying “ee ee aaa aa?” And I say (short vowel sound) i-i-i and (long vowel sound) eye-eye-eye. The he says “eee ee aaa?” again. It’s so cute.

Yesterday I thought I would get a little video of our boys playing legos together so nicely. Ha. After his long birthday weekend and all of the other stuff going on, Dig’s behavior has been less acceptable than it ought. I seriously feel like I’m working hard to be extra “mean” (say what I mean, mean what I say, follow through, be consistent), to counter his attitude. Over the last couple of days he acts like he is entitled to watch shows whenever he wants to, take things from brother whenever he wants to, demand things of me even though I’ve said no. He has had a lot of times on the sofa waiting for his attitude to change and had some other discipline, too. But you know what? It’s working.

Our lives are usually very consistent, and when things get all out of whack, the kids get all out of whack. So I’m re-implementing our normal boring lives for them.

I just had to post this video. My kids are pretty well behaved most of the time, sometimes it is a pride thing for me… So, here it is everyone, my kids can be little brats. I admit it.

Entry filed under: homeschooling, life.

Ii is for Indian (Day 1) Ii is for Igloo (Day 3)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 6 other followers


