Crafty Christmas – Play Kitchen

December 22, 2010 at 11:54 am 4 comments

I finished the boys’ Christmas present just in time! I looked at lots of DIY play kitchens to get ideas, and came up with this little kitchen after finally bringing all of the bits and pieces together.

The last part was finished yesterday when I received my Christmas present from my wonderful in-laws, Peter and Cindy! I am now a proud owner of a jigsaw (tool, just in case you are confused). This enabled me to cut the circle for the sink.

Here’s the run down of all the supplies and cost. You can’t even find a plastic kitchen at this great rate, so if you’ve been wanting a play kitchen for your kids, get working. My costs included all of the accessories as well.

Night stand – thrift store – $9.95
Cake pan sink – dollar store $1.00
Spray paint to redo the ugly hardware and 2 knobs – $0.96
4 knobs – $3.98
Over-door coat hanger that I bent for faucet – thrift store – $0.69
Tension rod for curtain – Target – $3.99
Cooking pot – thrift store – $3.00
6 complete cutlery sets – Ikea – $1.99
6 bowls – Ikea – $1.99
6 plates – Ikea – $1.99
6 cups – Ikea – $1.99
Cooking tools – Ikea – $0.49
Dish scrubber – dollar store – $1.00
Play food – Target – $4.00

Grand total: $37.02 (pre-tax)

Things I used that we already had:
Primer and paint
Material for the curtain
Acrylic paint for the hot/cold tap knobs
Acrylic paint for the electric burners
Plastic tub for the food
Plastic tub for the cutlery drawer

I removed one of the small burners from my stove top, turned it upside down and traced it where I wanted the play stove top to be located. I then hand painted it a charcoal gray using some acrylic craft paint. I drilled holes for the stove top knobs and the faucet knobs using a drill bit slightly larger than the knob screw size. I put a little bit of clear nail polish on the knob screws before screwing the knobs on. This will help the knobs stay on the screws – the boys can turn them without them coming off or getting too tight.

I cannot wait for Christmas morning! This is the one gift we will let the boys “open” (or pull a sheet off of or something) before breakfast. They can pretend to make us breakfast whilst we make theirs.

Entry filed under: handmade.

God Gave Us So Much – Book Review Crafty Christmas – Nativity

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. your mom  |  December 22, 2010 at 10:03 pm

    I am so impressed and a little bit jealous that you are so much more creative and talented than I am. WOW Sarah – this is very clever and very cute.

    Reply
  • 2. Liz  |  December 22, 2010 at 11:00 pm

    love this, Sarah! I’ve been thinking that making something like this would be something I could do in Haiti… glad to see yours worked out so well!

    Reply
  • 3. Dani  |  December 23, 2010 at 12:45 pm

    Sarah, you are brilliant! I’m totally inspired by your work.

    Reply
  • 4. Crafty Christmas – Nativity « Christian Homeschool Mom  |  December 23, 2010 at 1:11 pm

    […] And because I love being thrifty, I used the same glossy black spray paint I bought for the play kitchen drawer […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 6 other followers


