Crafty Christmas – Ruby’s Doodle Roll(er)

December 29, 2010 at 1:37 pm Leave a comment

Tada! We are back on to the Crafty Christmas posts. This might give you some good ideas for next year’s Christmas or birthdays.

This was a little “Doodle Roll(er)*” I whipped up for my youngest niece. She is always drawing or coloring – every time I see her.

I think this is the only item I totally made up – no online tutorial to follow or anything like that. I wish I would have taken more photos of the process, but I think any crafty person could easily do something like this.

What child (or awesome mom) doesn’t like NEW pencils! The Doodle Roll(er)* had room for 5. I realize now that I should have made the pencil holder a little shorter – because when the pencils get sharpened down to short, it will be difficult to get them out. Sorry, Ruby. I bought a set of matchstick style notepads at Target and built a little strap for one to hang on to. There is also a handy pocket for some nice card stock paper, perfect size for little doodles or diy bookmarks.

I made the Doodle Roll(er) with some leftover blue canvas (from another project you will see soon!), a strip of zebra print cotton, and finished it all off with a big sassy pink button.

*Originally I called this thing the Doodle Roll, but got an email telling me (from the company) that it is trademarked. Now we’re Doodle Roll(er)-ing it. Oh brother – it was a one time christmas gift.

Entry filed under: handmade.

I’m Dreaming of a Pukey Christmas Crafty Christmas – Lucy’s Beer Cap Checkers

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 6 other followers


