Crafty Christmas – Hazel’s Sewing Basket

December 31, 2010 at 12:52 pm 2 comments

Arg I can’t believe I forgot to take a picture of this one! I think my camera battery ran out in the middle of doing the pics and I forgot to catch up before wrapping the gifts.

I was advised that this girl is very much into design and takes a liking to Asian inspired looks. I used a tutorial on turning an ordinary basket into a sewing basket, using fabric from a pack of 8ths that were on sale for $2.00. The fabrics were all black/white and red/white which I thought would look very cool. I made the patchwork top pretty much like the tutorial instructs. I used a nice basket I found at the dollar store.

Instead of a button on top for the closure, I used an Asian knot button and hot glued one part to the top of the sewing basket, the other side to the edge of the basket.

Inside the sewing basket:

Who doesn’t need some brightly colored embroidery floss? And to go with, some embroidery needles (you know, the ones with the big “eyes” to get that multi-ply thread through). But, she needed some kind of pincushion for those needles. Another online tutorial (got to love those creative blogs) shows how to make a Bitty Bug Pincushion. I used the same fabrics for the pincushion that were used for the top of the sewing basket so that it felt more coordinated.

Entry filed under: handmade. Tags: , , , , , , .

The Fascinating Week in Dig Land Crafty Christmas – Kenya’s Rock N Roll Guitar Bag

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. your mom  |  December 31, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    Have Hazel take a pic and send it to you. It is darling!

    Reply
  • 2. Carly  |  December 31, 2010 at 10:21 pm

    So sweet, what a great idea.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 6 other followers


