Crafty Christmas – Kristin’s Embroidered Owls

January 3, 2011 at 4:55 pm Leave a comment

Kristin has a thing for owls. I looked at a few pics of owls before I sketched these out on tissue paper with an embroidery transfer pencil. I used some simple muslin material and embroidery floss. Once it was all finished I tried putting these owls into a frame I painted and it just didn’t look right. So I put them back into the embroidery hoop, then painted the brass screw hardware yellow to tie the color in to the yellow of the owls’ beaks and claws.

I did this embroidery days before I found an awesome book on embroidery at the Youth Ranch called “Crewel Embroidery” by Erica Wilson (1962). If I had this book before I did the owl embroidery, I probably would have changed some of the stitches I did, but overall I think it turned out alright!

Entry filed under: handmade.

Kk is for King Crafty Christmas – Tommy’s Cigar Gloves

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 6 other followers


