Crafty Christmas – Tommy’s Cigar Gloves

January 4, 2011 at 2:20 pm Leave a comment

If there’s one thing Tommy needs help with, it is his suavity factor. These gloves will probably not help.

Knitty.com has a pattern for these nifty cigar gloves that I just knew my brother “needed” as soon as I saw them. My niece pointed out that they would be useful as texting gloves as well. I thought they might come in handy on his annual snow caving, where there is supposedly cigar and/or pipe smoking.

I followed the pattern as it reads, using white wool and black for the contrast. Once the gloves were finished I dyed them by putting first the fingers in the pot of dye for 20 minutes, then added the middle for 20 minutes, then the wrist. The color change wasn’t as gradual as I was going for, but they still turned out well.

Here’s to toasty fingers and that lovely tobacco smell, all at the same time.

Entry filed under: handmade.

Crafty Christmas – Kristin’s Embroidered Owls Kk is for Kite

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 6 other followers


