Fever!

January 7, 2011 at 1:54 pm Leave a comment

Winter has only just begun, technically. Yet Spring fever is upon me!

My problem: I daydream and make lists, charts and graphs about all of the organizing I will do in our home, all of the gardening I will do outside our home, and it never works out to such greatness as I expect. I have a habit of putting too many irons in the fire. Starting a project – any project – is so exciting. The problem is the middle and end bit of a project. I know I’m not the only one…

Is there a solution? I don’t know that I’ll ever find a satisfactory one. Oooh, except this awesome idea I have that involves me starting all projects and then someone else comes along after and finishes them all up. Wait, isn’t that what marriage is for? Bwahaha.

Okay seriously now. I don’t make new years resolutions. It’s not something I do. I just want to be a person who doesn’t have to wait for the new year, or next month, or tomorrow, to start something that is good that I could start today. Practically and financially there will be things that need to wait for another day. I’m not thinking of those things. I am thinking of things like regular reading of the Bible, exercise (purely an example, I’m against it myself), washing the dishes after dinner… The problem is, I can’t try and start everything I think of at once, it will only lead to frustration and quitting everything. So, one thing at a time, right?

Spring fever brings on the desire for cleaning, organizing, and repairing things around the home. The repairing stuff – that’s an example of what to wait on until the finances are handy. But cleaning and organizing, right-oh. Totally possible.

I started with my pantry. I really wish I had taken a before picture. Things were bad. I prayed on my way to Costco on Tuesday (seriously) for these cereal/snack containers to be on sale. Thank You! I bought two sets (6 total) for holding bulk flours and rice. I wish I could get a couple more sets, but got creative instead with some old peanut butter and canning jars to hold smaller quantities of things like baking powder, gluten flour, soda and the like, plus an extra oatmeal container that I relabeled for non-fat dry milk (for cooking purposes).

Despite the fever going on here, I haven’t done much else spring-cleaning like. Since our dishwasher broke, hand-washing the dishes has taken up a lot of the regular cleaning time. It had to coincide with my decision to bake our bread again, and all of those measuring cups, spoons, jugs and bowls pile up in the sink so easily.

Alright, this is done, now I should probably make a list and chart for the garden, the family room, the boys’ rooms, those sewing projects I’m dying to start, my exercise plan, and spring knitting projects.

Entry filed under: home, life.

Kk is for Kangaroo Parenting: The Joyful Impossibility

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 6 other followers


