Making Tortillas

January 12, 2011 at 1:09 pm 1 comment

There have been a few times that I’ve wanted to make tortillas for our family instead of buying them. Up until now I have talked myself out of it. I thought it would be too much trouble.

But necessity strikes! I am making bread today. This afternoon. It took me all morning to just tidy up the kitchen. So I needed a quick fix for the boys’ lunch and decided to make some tortillas. We wanted fajitas tonight anyway.

I used my new trusty kitchen assistant More-With-Less – thanks to Jonny who gave it me for Christmas. I knew that it would contain the very recipe I needed, and it didn’t let me down.

Like any health-conscious person, I opted for a version other than (more than) plain white tortillas. I made a mix of white flour, whole wheat flour, wheat bran, and corn flour. I now know that next time I will roll them a bit thicker, but they taste absolutely delicious.

My boys just enjoyed their quesadilla lunch and are full of some whole grainy, fibery goodness as they now run around wreaking havoc on the house.

Entry filed under: handmade, home.

Parenting: The Joyful Impossibility Crafty Christmas – B&T’s Fingerless Extravaganza

1 Comment Add your own

  • […] I don’t know who in the world would think it is “simpler” to make all of your food by scratch, but that is what I am doing. I have resolved to be making our salad dressings, our bread, dinners, desserts (occassionally!), and anything else I can think of. A benefit of doing this is definitely financial: flour, yeast, bran, salt, grains, they cost pennies. But I also have the benefit if know exactly what goes into our bellies. A bottle of salad dressing will have 20 different ingredients (including sugar), but a homemade dressing can have anywhere from 1-5 ingredients. It is also more expensive and difficult to find any desserts made with all or partial whole wheat, breads without corn syrup, cereals without a sugar coating. We have eaten a lot of beans and brown rice lately (and oh man, if you think yuck when you hear “beans and rice”, you haven’t tried Brazilian Beans from More-With-Less!). […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 6 other followers


