Give Me A Break

February 15, 2011 at 10:23 pm 2 comments

Hey, for those of you who DO keep checking for new posts – I am sorry about the silence. I’m having one of those times in life where I am readjusting and figuring things out… again and again. That’s part of life and for sure a part of being a parent.

A couple of weeks back I did some major re-organizing after we put the boys in a shared room. I looked back through my folders of school projects we have done so far. The weeks that we worked on letters A-K look fantastic. The folders are practically falling apart, stuffed with coloring pages and crafts. Guess what? Those are the weeks I had planned out. When L and M came along, I was just winging it day to day. It’s what I needed to do at the time, but I’m realizing now that I want to do it right.

I’m taking a break for a few weeks. We just had some nasty sickness and I’m still tired, plus I have two upcoming shows (I’m in aband called LB Jeffries) and then some much needed family time set aside.

I will be back and am considering a revisit to letters L and M and continue on from there. There’s no point in getting stressed over not being totally organized, but I am realizing that this school time / craft time is really worth doing and so I want to do it right.

I think the school stuff we have done so far have made a difference: Dig spelled his name out (D-a-v-i-d) yesterday on a Valentine’s card for his Daddy! He knew how to do the D and i without visual aid, but I helped him with the a, v and d by writing them first and he looked at them and then did it! What a little smarty pants.

I’ll ‘see’ you back here in a few weeks!

Entry filed under: home, homeschooling, life.

When Life Gives You Lemons

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jim  |  March 10, 2011 at 12:44 pm

    Funny how we think we have a choice between having a plan/making preparations and spontaneity/having fun. I wish I could once-and-for-all learn that oftentimes it is planning and being prepared that gives us freedom/flexibility to be more spontaneous and to have more fun. It is true that perfectionism about planning (“plan the work and work the plan”) can kill creativity and pleasure. But it doesn’t have to be that way. Thanks for the reminder!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 6 other followers


